Przewalski Project

Przewalski Project

Przewalski

Over the year 2006 we had the opportunity to observe the integration of two Przewalski stallions into a semi-wild living bachelor group. This small group, alredy composed of eight stallions, lives on a 50 ha area at the former military area Tennenlohe in the north of the German city Nürnberg,, where the Landschaftspflegeverband Mittelfranken takes care of their well being. The observation caused us to extend the doctoral thesis of Birgit Flauger "Cognitive abilities in horses concerning the integration in new social groups, in comparison to the stress level" to some new aspects as for instance the influence of domestication on the evolution of cognition. The hypothesis that convergent social evolution favours convergent cognitive evolution (Whiten and Byrne, 1988; Dunbar, 2000; De Waal and Tyack, 2003) can be proved by investigations on horses. Since horses a are highly social species and still exist in different evolutionary stages, a comparative study between domestic horses, feral horses and Przewalski horses (the last remaining wild horses), concerning their reasoning abilities in the specific situation of the integration into new social groups, can give valuable information about the evolution of individual social cognitive abilities in horses. Although domestic and wild horses show similar social organizations of their groups, differences could be observed in their individual social abilities within these groups. For example, Przewalski horses appear to act significantly more aggressively towards each other than domestic horses (Feh, 1988; Keiper and Receveur, 1992; etc.).
  In addition, first preliminary results from this PhD thesis about the integration of domestic and wild horses into new social groups indicate differences in the social behaviour during integration. It is likely that the social abilities of horses have changed with domestication and/ or feralisation. Humans selected horses mainly for their performance, their beauty, their amenability and ability to cope with stressful situation, but their social abilities were considered to be less important. Therefore, we hypothesise that wild horses still show more effective social abilities than domestic horses, whereas domestic horses are more skilful to cope with stress.
 



Future perspectives

Intervention behaviour

was frequently observed in the Tennenlohe, Nuremberg (Germany), bachelor group while new horses were integrated and during "every day" situations. Causalities for this behaviour are object to a running study.

 

Behaviour and Stress of Przewalski horses in management situations

Riccarda Wolter works on the topic for her Phd thesis. Riccarda observes the horses at the Stadtwald Augsburg and the Project Campo Pond in Hanau, both in Germany.


English

Przewalski Projekt

  • coming soon () ;     Abstract
Deutsch

Przewalski Projekt

Przewalski

Im Laufe des Jahres 2006 ergab sich für unsere Forschungsgruppe die Möglichkeit die Integration zweier Przewalski Hengste in eine semi-wild lebende Junggesellen-Gruppe zu beobachten. Die kleine Hengst Gruppe von nun bereits acht Tieren lebt auf einem 50 ha großen Areal des ehemaligen Truppenübungsplatzes Tennenlohe im Norden der Stadt Nürnberg, und wird betreut vom Landschaftspflegeverband Mittelfranken. Die Beobachtungen der Integration gaben Anlass das Promotions Projektes "Kognitive Fähigkeiten der Pferde bei der Eingliederung in neue soziale Gruppen, unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Stress Zustandes der Pferde" von Birgit Flauger um einige interessante Aspekte, wie z. B. den Einfluss von Domestikation auf die Entwicklung von Kognition, zu erweitern. Die Hypothese, dass konvergente soziale Entwicklung konvergente kognitive Entwicklung fördert (Whiten und Byrne, 1988; Dunbar, 2000; De Waal und Tyack, 2003) kann an Studien mit Pferden untersucht werden. Pferde stellen eine hoch sozialisierte Spezies dar und existieren in verschiedenen Entwicklungsstufen, nämlich als domestizierte Pferde, als verwilderte Pferde und als wirkliche Wildpferde (Przewalski Pferde). Eine vergleichende Studie ihrer rationalen Fähigkeiten, in der speziellen Situation der Integration in eine neue soziale Gruppe, kann wertvolle Informationen über die Entwicklung von individuellen sozialen Fähigkeiten von Pferden liefern. Obwohl domestizierte Pferde und Wildpferde ähnliche soziale Organisation ihrer Gruppen aufweisen, konnten innerhalb dieser Gruppen Unterschiede in ihren individuellen sozialen Fähigkeiten beobachtet werden. Es wurde zum Beispiel beschrieben, dass Przewalski Pferde deutlich aggressiveres Verhalten gegenüber Artgenossen zeigen als domestizierte Pferde (Feh, 1988; Keiper und Receveur, 1992; etc.).
  Ebenso unterstreichen erste Ergebnisse der Promotions Studie über die Integration von domestizierten Pferden und Wildpferden in neue soziale Gruppen Unterschiede im individuellen sozialen Verhalten während der Integrationen. Es ist möglich, dass sich die sozialen Fähigkeiten der Pferde mit der Domestikation und/ oder der Verwilderung verändert haben. Der Mensch selektierte Pferde vor allem nach Leistung, Schönheit, Gefügigkeit und ihrer Fähigkeit mit Stress umzugehen, auf die sozialen Fähigkeiten wurde weniger Wert gelegt. Deshalb stellen wir die Hypothese auf, dass Wildpferde bessere soziale Fähigkeiten aufweisen, wohingegen domestizierte Pferde besser mit stressvollen Situationen umgehen können..
 

Laufende Przewalski Projekte

Schlichterverhalten

wurde während  der Integrationen neuer Pferde und in "alltäglichen Situationen" in die Junghengstegruppe in Tennenlohe währende der letzten Jahre immer wider beobachtet. Der Sinn und Zweck des Verhaltens wird in einer laufenden Studie evaluiert.

 

Verhalten und Stress der Przewalski Pferde bei Mangement Eingriffen

Riccarda Wolter beschäftigt sich mit dieser Thematik im Rahmen ihrer Dissertation. Riccarda beobachtet die Pferde des Statdwald Augsburg und des Projekts Campo Pond in Hanau.